1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Building a tele that I want to age nicely - advice!

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by ChrisLarcombe, Aug 16, 2020.

1. ChrisLarcombe

ChrisLarcombe TDPRI Member

Hello everyone -

I'm looking to put together a parts-caster and want to use a body and neck that will age nicely. I play a LOT, so I'm sure it will get lots of road wear, and plenty of hours of general use. My tele atm is my dearest love, but I am aware that the finishes that fender use nowadays are titanium-like, and hardly age at all, regardless of hours. I am fully left handed, so it's not like I can't just splash out for a 60's tele at very easily, and as a young student, I have to be smart about prices.

I figure warmoth is surely my best option, but I want to know - do warmoth do bodies that will age like early fenders will?

The tele will eventually be a B-Bender, so will be routed out, if that makes any difference as what wood/finishes to use.

2. Lowerleftcoast

Lowerleftcoast Friend of Leo's

The older Fenders were painted with lacquer. It ages differently than modern finishes. Today you can still get lacquer.

Body wood. Generally Alder, Pine, or Ash are common. Ash is harder than Alder, or Pine so it will not dent as easily. If you don't mind natural wood for a guitar body, an oiled wood can look very nice as it ages like old furniture. Any of the woods can be routed for a B-Bender.

You must be careful with lacquer. It will react with chemicals causing it to melt. Guitar hangers or stands with rubber cushions will mess up the finish.

ChrisLarcombe likes this.
  3. 2manyteles

2manyteles TDPRI Member Silver Supporter