Building a rhythm guitar

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by etype, Dec 3, 2014.

1. etype

etype Tele-Afflicted

It is going to take me a Christmas present, Valentaines Day, an anniversary and my birthday to get all the parts, but I am looking to build the ultimate rhythm guitar.

(Full disclosure, I played acoustic for about 5 years in the 80s-90s and then took a 20 year break. I have been playing again for about 4 years and just picked up an electric a couple years back).

85% of what I play are chords (mostly open) and fingerstyle (as an alternative to strumming). In fact, I use a pick less than 1/2 the time. Examples of what I play include
    Lou Reed's Coney Island Baby and New Sensations
    Lyle Lovett's If I had a Boat and Fly Swatter/Ice Water Blues
    REM's Driver Eight (fingerstyle or stumming)
    Squeeze's Goodbye Girl
    Ryan Adam's Oh My Sweet Carolina (fingerstyle)
    Norah Jones Come Away with Me (fingerstyle)
    Johnny Cash Folsom Prison Blues (boom chic-a).

All of this sounds pretty good on my acoustic dreadnought, and some sound great on my Tele Cabronita, but I am looking to build a partscaster that has a warmer/jazzier sound. My favorite candidates listening to dozens of youtube clips are the:
    SD Seth Lover PAF
    Railhammer humbuckers in Reverend guitars demo-ed by proguitarshopdemo
    G&L Bluesboy with Seth Lover neck pick up (also a proguitarshopdemo video).

The problem is that most demos are geared towards lead guitar and I fear what sounds good in that context will not work. I did find this blog post (link below) that seems to suggest that humbuckers are not a good option... although the railhammer pickups supposedly have a tighter bass response. And they do make a P90 version.

http://blog.tonepedia.com/2012/03/01/gear-tips-for-the-electric-rhythm-guitar-player/

Any suggestions? Thanks!!!

2. Jupiter

Jupiter Telefied Silver Supporter

Where are you going to put the pick-up--at the neck or at the bridge?

3. etype