build me an amp

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by gayler, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. gayler

    gayler Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Lakin, Ks
    I have too many projects and not enough time, so who would like to build me a dirt cheap amp from a lowrey organ amp. It has two 6L6's and a 5U4 but no preamp. Also what would be a good choice amp to build?
     
  2. gayler

    gayler Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Lakin, Ks
    [​IMG]ttp://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o87/gayler1/DSC02764.jpg[/IMG]
     
  3. gayler

    gayler Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Lakin, Ks
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Raybob

    Raybob Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Location:
    South Lake Tahoe, CA
    Does the Lowrey amp work? Do you just need a pre-amp? Do you need a cabinet/speakers too? With 2 6L6s, you could make a nice Bandmaster or Super Reverb. What exactly does "dirt cheap" mean?

    Raybob
     
  5. gayler

    gayler Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Lakin, Ks
    not sure if it works. Haven't had time to do much with it. I can power it up and all tubes light up. I'm hoping it just needs preamp with volume and tone controls. I don't need a cabinet or speakers I Have two P10Q's. Dirt cheap means as cheap as possible
     
  6. muchxs

    muchxs Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    13,144
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Location:
    New England
    I hope you powered it up with a load connected across the OT secondary (speaker load). I see that all the time on eBay, sellers powering up monoblocks and old organ amps just to watch the tubes glow. The filaments lighting up doesn't tell you anything and you risk damage to the amp...
     
  7. gayler

    gayler Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Lakin, Ks
    I intended to pull the tubes but forgot, but I only had power on for a couple of seconds so hopefully be ok. Also there was nothing on the input if that matters.
     
  8. ThermionicScott

    ThermionicScott Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    5,913
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Location:
    SW CR IA US NA PE
    'twould be a fun project, and I see a lot of potential there, but I have a lot on my plate, and I wouldn't be cheap either. ;)

    - Scott
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.