Buffing

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by Simonwhittle, Oct 11, 2013.

1. Simonwhittle

Simonwhittle TDPRI Member

Im coming up to the buffing stage what's best for nitro buffing by hand or machine. Thanks.

2. Drum Strummer

Drum Strummer TDPRI Member

Simon - if this is your first build I would recommend hand buffing. 2 reasons:
    1. While slower it allows you to control the process. It's harder to burn through the finish by hand (notice I said harder - not impossible).
    2. It's more forgiving - go over the edge of the body with an electric drill buffer and watch the wheel jump up and scar a line across the surface. Stand in one spot to long and generate some heat and watch the surface peel up - not good.

I am a newbie and hand sanded and hand buffed my guitar. While it may be faster for the pros - it certainly is safer to buff and polish by hand as opposed to refinishing at the final stages of the build by letting an electric buffer get away from you (IMHO).

Good luck

3. ezas

ezas TDPRI Member

And if you are willing to put the 'extra' work in you will get excellent results. I highly recommend the 'X' line of Meguiar's polishing products. You literally can't screw it up with these products.

I tried the 'kit' from Stew Mac but I like using the products from Meguiar's better. It makes polishing almost fun.

4. DrASATele

DrASATele Poster Extraordinaire

+1 on the Meguiar's stuff. I did the Fine Cut, Ultimate Polish and Mirror Show Room stuff and I also now have some 3M products, the rubbing compound, the Finess It 2 and the Imperial Glaze... both brand are something you see a lot of here and work on the nitro finish. As Drummer hinted at Elbow grease might be the best place to start!

5. CapnCrunch

CapnCrunch Friend of Leo's