Budget Player Tele

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by AZMLI, Jul 18, 2019.

1. AZMLI

AZMLI TDPRI Member

I'm in the market for a budget telecaster, and have a budget of about $250-300. I'm looking for a player, with two single coils.

I used to have a Fender Standard (MIM) Telecaster, which I loved, but I had to sell it for various reasons. Now even used, that's beyond my budget.

At best, I'm a novice guitar player. I'm currently learning "Folsom Prison Blues". I not very worried about the best tone. I do need it to be playable with nothing more than a setup to factory specs. The frets need to be dressed, and ready to play. I don't want to have to pay to have a nut fixed or replaced.

I've been looking at Squiers, Xavieres, Austins, etc; watching YouTube Videos, and reading.

I've gone into local shops, but most of their teles are under 200 or well over 300, and it's not like most of them bother to do any QA on the guitars on the floor.

I'm leaning toward getting a Squier Standard from Elderly Instruments. They setup and check all their new guitars before shipping. I thought about a Squier CV 50's but they're $100 - $150 more. I thought about getting a Xaviere XV-820, but what's Guitar Fetishes QA like?

Thoughts? My head is swimming.

- Patrick

Skydog1010 and NothingGoatboat like this.
  2. RoCkstAr256

RoCkstAr256 Tele-Afflicted

For 300$ u can find Classic Vibe Telecaster by Squier, Vintage Blonde is really sexy colour. Pickup are nice and bluesy. Go for it

3. LunarSlingShot

LunarSlingShot Tele-Meister

I agree with trying to find a classic vibe used. Best quality option for that price.

Dismalhead, DanDII, AZMLI and 2 others like this.
  4. NothingGoatboat

NothingGoatboat Tele-Meister

Squier, for sure. A lot of them play as good as MIMs. Or check out Harley Benton or GFS

AZMLI likes this.
  5. RoCkstAr256

No no harley bentons, they hit and miss. Dont please. I live in Europe .

Go for Squier Classic Vibe tele

6. nicod98