1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Broken head

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by SacDAve, May 13, 2010.

1. SacDAve

SacDAve Poster Extraordinaire

I just picked up this Paul Jr. (59) from a friends shop. As you can see from the pics the head is broken, I’ve never fixed a completely broken one before. It’s a clean break so I’m thinking epoxy and some 1/8 wood dowel pins. The finishing will be pretty straight forward. So my question anyone have advice with real experience doing this type of repair? It may get down to just making a new neck, the frets are so worn I can’t believe it even was playable.

Attached Files:

2. Bluej58

Bluej58 Tele-Holic

I'm no expert but I wouldn't use epoxy or dowels .

I think that the epoxy will be too thick and the dowels could be trouble some to line up .

I did a repair on one of those types of breaks only it was still hanging on a bit, using
    Tite bond III that I thinned with a very little bit of distilled water.

I loaded it up with glue and clamped it together real tight, cleaning up what squeezed out.

Did it about three years ago, no problems so far.

3. JPanichella

JPanichella Tele-Meister

Epoxy will cause a noticeable gap. Wood glue and clamps like bluej suggested.

4. AJ CUSTOM

AJ CUSTOM TDPRI Member

I agree with bluej58, just plain old yellow wood glue is probably your best option. the way it is broken clamping it shouldn't be a problem. just make sure to refinish it to keep moisture from breaking the glue bond.

5. boris bubbanov

boris bubbanov Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

No dowels.

If I had to do it I would use Titebond or Titebond II.

But I would rather take it to someone who works with hide glue all the time and get them to let me watch them do it.

6. fletch

fletch Tele-Meister

7. SacDAve