Broadcaster v tele info on controls

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Ndavis1971, May 16, 2021.

1. Ndavis1971

Ndavis1971 TDPRI Member

I am considering purchasing a relic new broadcaster that is close in spec to early 50s. Almost 7 lbs. That means a hot bridge (9 or so ohms in output v 6.7 in neck) and, as I understand it, no tone knob to speak of. Instead what would be the tone knob on a Tele simply adds more neck to the bridge in the broadcaster from what I’ve read. Could be wrong. Center position on this one turns both pickups on like a humbucker.

Anyhow I have no experience with a broadcaster and I’m curious what your thoughts are on them, how such a setup changes the tone of a broadcaster versus a Tele, why people prefer one or the other, etc.

TIA

2. jfgesquire

jfgesquire Tele-Afflicted

Unfortunately, not like a humbucker if it's really like an original, because Fender did not use a reverse wound reverse polarity pickup pair.

Ndavis1971 likes this.
  3. Joe M

Joe M Super Moderator Staff Member

Admin Post
    If you’re talking about a CS Broadcaster, the wiring is like this: front position, neck pickup with preset bass; middle position, neck pickup, no tone; rear position, blend using the “tone” knob to blend the bridge pickup with the neck. No “regular” tone control at any position.FWIW, there is a prewired control harness included with the guitar to give you “normal” Tele wiring.

Tonetele, Telekarster and Ndavis1971 like this.
  4. Telekarster

Telekarster Tele-Afflicted

This video might help. Skip to about the 4 min mark...

gmann and Ndavis1971 like this.
  5. Ndavis1971

Ndavis1971 TDPRI Member

Thanks. It’s a nacho broadcaster. So tone knob works and middle position is “humbucker”. Which makes me wonder why he calls it a broadcaster...hot bridge maybe?

Telekarster likes this.
  6. Twang Tone

Twang Tone Friend of Leo's