Britt speaker for DR.

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by psykobilly, Sep 14, 2019.

1. psykobilly

psykobilly Tele-Meister

Bought a 68 DR a while back and put an Eminence Cannabis Rex in it because, well, its what I had layin around. It is a great speaker, it really is, but I have a few friends that run british flavored speakers in their amps and love the tone of them also. Looking at an ET-65 and Emi JS-1250. Anybody have input on pro's, cons to any of these? I know tone is a very subjective thing, but I like to ask for opinions before dropping 100+ based on youtube videos....

2. robt57

robt57 Telefied Ad Free Member

I really like a GB in a DR. Some hair for more than country twangin.

codamedia likes this.
  3. rze99

rze99 Poster Extraordinaire

Well I’m a Brit. So I suppose my ears are tuned to Celestions and I’ve been running cabs with Celestion blues and greens since I was a teenager in the late 70s.

I have a British made Creamback in my DRRI 65 and I like the way it kills the ice pick and it kicks the Mids up a bit and smooths the amp which makes a difference at volume in the band. It makes it more punchy. At lower quiet volumes it is more polite. I like my tone a bit crunchy and this fits perfectly.

jimash and gridlock like this.
  4. rolandson

rolandson Tele-Meister

If you can find one, an Eminence Red Fang.

I've one that I pop into an old friend that I've had forever (a 1967 Deluxe Reverb) periodically because it sounds 'really really good', as opposed to the just 'really good' that the original speaker provides.

They are, however, a bit difficult to find.

5. robt57

Makes it louder too. That is an efficient high sensitivity speaker. Up there with the most. My fav speaker, it is like a Blue with built in insurance. ;)

But IMO, and I take the tome circuits outta my Teles, not in a DR for me. Although with a tone circuit as Leo intended it... ;)

Bit I have not tried it, so I should not cast stones I guess.

rolandson likes this.