Bridge over troubled water...

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by yanick, Sep 30, 2014.

1. yanick

yanick TDPRI Member

Hello all,
    allthough I have been playing for over 25 yrs I must admit my ignorance and thus it is with humility that I ask thee:

How much impact upgrading a bridge really has?

for example, on my 1987 MIJ Squier tele, should I be thinking about changing the stock bridge (top loading, 6 cheap "T" saddles) for a high end 3 saddles vintage type? Is it a night a day thing or will it only make a minor change?

Thank you all in advance...

2. sjtalon

sjtalon Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

I wouldn't say night and day. Subtle, but who's to say what that difference is would necessarily be a good thing, or any gain sonically to YOUR ears.

Component changes are really subjective.

If you seek different tone ( notice I didn't say BETTER) look into a pickup change, there are piles of very good ones out there.

hellopike likes this.
  3. Peter Rabbit

Peter Rabbit Tele-Holic

In my experience, the main difference between types of metal saddles is in the sustain. The better the contact between the bridge and body, the greater the sustain. I've only noticed a difference in tone when replacing a Danelectro rosewood bridge/saddle with a metal saddle set.

I personally like the looks of the traditional 3 saddle Tele, but that's just looks. There are supposed to be variations in brightness among different metals, like aluminum is brighter than steel, which is brighter than brass, but any subtle distinctions are lost on these old ears. YMMV

4. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

The density of whatever the strings are attached to/contact with/witness upon determines much of the sonic qualities of a guitar.