bridge for squier japan

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by aj55, Mar 18, 2021.

  1. aj55

    aj55 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Dear all,

    I am lucky to own a E-series Squier in perfect condition. I would like however to exchange the bridge for a 3-saddle bridge like the one I have in my '99 Fender mij Tele. Both are toploader. See pics:

    IMG_2103.JPG

    IMG_2105.JPG


    Problem is they both are mounted with 3 screws and all I can find is with 4 screws.
    Does anybody know where to find such a bridge?

    Cheers, Arnold
     
  2. SbS

    SbS Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    975
    Joined:
    May 29, 2020
    Location:
    Finland
  3. aj55

    aj55 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Thanks! Looks like it, although no top-loader. But I suppose I could drill those holes myself ;-)
     
  4. yegbert

    yegbert Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,540
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland (US)
    ED2E3766-FC49-473F-A70B-2B9DFDFF60F3.jpeg Those Kluson bridges have a hybrid “vintage ashtray-lip / newer and longer US and Squier standard” design and have string through holes made for those Standard Teles that you don’t need for that top loader Tele. They have their place for owners of newer Standard Teles who want those vintage style features.

    If you really want a flat (side lip-less) and thicker bridge like your second picture shows, you might want to investigate using a bridge like those made after around 2000 for Squiers that have six non-offset saddles. Used or eBay. You would still need to three drill holes for the three saddles’ intonation adjusting screws, but you can use the six saddles’ mounting holes as your toploading string through holes. I have a couple I can photograph...
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2021
  5. yegbert

    yegbert Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,540
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland (US)
    The top 2 plates are from string through Squiers. The bottom is a vintage style dual loader I used for illustration purposes. The top two would only need 3 holes drilled between each of the E-A, D-G, and B-E “pairs” of saddle mounting holes, to support a vintage-style 3-saddle set. And the old 6-saddle hole are positioned good for top loading.

    Note that if using vintage style 3 saddles with these plates as such, you are likely to need to obtain longer than vintage normal intonation screws and springs.

    if you get someone’s old bridge plate from a top loader-only Tele (some early Affinitys), you wouldn’t have any of these Squier Standard string through holes.
     
  6. dpang2836

    dpang2836 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    67
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Location:
    Post Falls Idaho
    Do not Alter your Body, which includes new Bridge Holes! Take your time and find the right one! Kluson is nice and I have seen a couple others. Top load only might be a Problem though?
     
  7. yegbert

    yegbert Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,540
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland (US)
  8. SixStringSlinger

    SixStringSlinger Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,493
    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Space
  9. aj55

    aj55 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Thanks all!
    That last one really looks the one though :)
    Unfortunately it will be really expensive by the time it gets to the Netherlands (freight, tax, duty)......
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2021
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.