Brent Mason

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by CountryJim, Nov 25, 2014.

1. CountryJim

CountryJim TDPRI Member

Hello Folks,

I have recently revamped my rig.
    I bought a PedalTrain1 and have been adding pedals to it like there is no tomorrow!
    I play a Fender Telecaster Hot Rod '52. I am about to change the bridge pickup to either a Seymour Duncan Five Two or a Stack.
    I am unsure which to go for and none of my local shops have any guitars in store with them so I can not try before I buy.
    I am looking to get that well known, much loved Brent Mason country tone.
    I have read that the 'Five Two' will give me this however, I am aware that Brent uses a stack so any advice on this matter would be greatly appreciated.
    I am aware that 80% of your tone comes form your own fingers...there is no issue with this...I am a professional guitarist. I can get really close to the tone I am looking for but feel a change of pickup will give me that 'lift' I am looking for.

As far as pedals go, here is my gear;

MXR Super Comp
    BBE Boosta Grande
    Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor
    Wampler Hot Wired
    Wampler Faux Analog Echo
    Boss CE-5 Chorus Ensemble

I am also thinking of adding a BBE Sonic Stomp. Anybody know much about them?
    I heard Brent talking about the Creation Audio Labs MK.4.23 which he says really expands you tone. Has anybody got much experience with these pedals?

I am running these into a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe with Weber Attenuator between the speaker and preamp.

Could anybody give me suggestions on how best to set up these pedals. I am aware that different configurations can give different results so I have been messing around but I would really appreciate so other points of view.

At the moment I have this set up:

Guitar > MXR Super Comp > Boosta Grande > NS-2
    Then I take the send of the NS-2 > Hot Wired > CE-5 > Faux Echo > NS-2 return > NS-2 out > Amp

All comments/advice welcome!

Kind regards,
    CountryJim.