Breaking Out Of A Rut

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by ElJay370, Aug 22, 2019.

1. ElJay370

ElJay370 Tele-Meister

I’ve been playing guitar for about 20 years. I’m pretty much entirely self taught. Like many of you I’m sure, I first learned by listening to records and trying to copy what I heard. Later on, I was shown or figured out all the first position cowboy chords, barre chords, and the minor pentatonic blues scale.

And that’s kind of where my progress stopped.

I’m skilled enough to where I can play most of the typical rock stuff and can turn up and wail a decent enough solo, but my chordal knowledge is severely limited. I know the basics, but mostly don’t know chord names or inversions or what notes to put in/take out to change them. My lead playing isn’t melodic...it doesn’t really “sing”. I’ve been stuck in the Clapton/Page/Hendrix/SRV mode of minor key blues-based noodling.

I’ve bought a few books, but once they start talking about theory and modes and chord substitutions and whatnot my brain just kind of glazes over. I’m more of a show-me-and-I’ll-imitate-it kind of learner.

Can anyone recommend some online videos that might be helpful?

Omiewise65, Nubs and 24 track like this.
  2. 24 track

24 track Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

find a really cool song you like like the BIG LOG by Robert Plant ( just an example) and watch how it is played , look for some new chords you dont usually use like minor 7th chords and try to encorporate them into what you already use when you are noodling , this will widen you approach a whole ton and you wont sound so much like you, when this becomes old hat the rince and repeat,
    Dave Gilmour used commom chord shapes but used them in a way that you had to change your fingerings to be able to move to the next chord