Brass amp chassis?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Dsav54, Mar 29, 2020.

  1. Dsav54

    Dsav54 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2020
    Location:
    Ri
    Hey there,
    I'm starting a 6g15 reverb unit build, and planning on building the chassis and cab from scratch. I have a bit of brass sheet metal (various thicknesses) that'd I'd love to put to use.
    Any thoughts on using brass? Everything I've found says it's more conductive than steel, but that's all I could find.

    Thanks!
    Dave
     
  2. printer2

    printer2 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,668
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    There is no reason you can not use it. You can solder the box together if you want.
     
  3. Ricky D.

    Ricky D. Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    10,527
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    No intrinsic objections. You'll need to be mindful of the structural strength needed, and the visible areas will need a finish to maintain the appearance.
     
    Wally likes this.
  4. Ringo

    Ringo Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    8,148
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis TN
    I had an older Ampeg combo amp a few years ago, wasn't working, I sold it for parts, the chassis was copper!
     
  5. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    35,297
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I have seen quite a few copper-plated chassi, but I have seen solid copper chassi only in the 1964 Rickenbacker amps I have owned...a B-16 Supersonic and this B9A.....
    4A9DF520-54D5-4125-B9B0-29E49BFE7718.jpeg
     
  6. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    3,991
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    Weren't the early Champs solid copper?
     
  7. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    35,297
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
  8. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    3,991
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    I'm doing everything from my work computer at the moment, but I worked on a 49 or 50 champ and took lots of photos. I'll see if I can get to them at some point...
     
  9. DuckDodgers

    DuckDodgers Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Location:
    Dee-troit City
    Brass is more conductive than steel, but with proper construction techniques, like single point grounds, it would make no real difference one way or the other.
     
    Tim S likes this.
  10. Dsav54

    Dsav54 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2020
    Location:
    Ri
    Awesome! Thanks for the responses every one! :)
     
  11. bparnell57

    bparnell57 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,989
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Would work fine, but would need to be thicker for equivalent resistance to bending.
     
    Wally likes this.
  12. tubegeek

    tubegeek Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    1,027
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I've gutted a console amp that had a lovely copper chassis, I think it was a Motorola - maybe a Magnavox. One of the M's.

    Brass will be nice for a guitar amp, you could even nitro lacquer it when you're done.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.