1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

BR06623's 2012 Challenge Build Thread -- COMPLETED

Discussion in '2012 TDPRI Tele Build Challenge' started by BR06623, Mar 13, 2012.

1. BR06623

BR06623 Tele-Meister

I am entering the Best Beginner challenge. I have no experience building guitars. Looking forward to the build and can't wait to see what everyone comes up with! Good Luck to All!:D

2. Trow

Trow Tele-Holic

Good luck!

3. crazydave911

crazydave911 Doctor of Teleocity

Welcome, and good luck! :D

Dave

4. RogerC

RogerC Poster Extraordinaire

Good luck, man! Glad to have you here and competing. This should be a great category to watch.

5. BR06623

BR06623 Tele-Meister

Raw Materials

This is what I am starting with: Maple Ambrosia 4/4 neck material, Bolivian rosewood fret board blank, Oak body blank - probably will be chambered, quartersawn Oak veneer taken from the top of an old sewing machine. The veneer has some wood glued to the back which will have to be thinned about 3/8's of an inch. I will have to build a sled for my router to do this with, as I only have basic power tools.

Attached Files:

6. BR06623

BR06623 Tele-Meister

Thanks to you all and good luck to you too.

7. BR06623

BR06623 Tele-Meister

Thanks to Terry Downs

I printed Mr. Down's drawing a couple of weeks ago, on 8.5x11 paper, taped them together and glued them to some cheap fingerjointed material. (mistake #1, next time I will use MDF)

In this photo I just finished tracing the outside to the body blank. I intend to rough cut it with my jig saw, then finish it with the template and flush trim router.

Attached Files:

8. nosmo

nosmo Friend of Leo's

Yep, that MDF works pretty darn well. Actually, it is really nice to work with (try not to breath too much of it). Your pieces look good.

Good luck in the challenge.