Boss OD-1x is surprisingly good!

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by D_Malone, Feb 21, 2019.

1. D_Malone

D_Malone Tele-Meister

I've been playing guitar for 35+ years. I've been through a ridiculous number of OD pedals, especially in the last 5 years, and I've never come across anything quite like the OD-1x.

I've had Boss dirt pedals in the past. Some I liked, some I didn't. I kinda wrote them off as an option years ago, but this one piqued my interest, so I picked one up, and I'm really surprised by how much I'm enjoying it.

I wouldn't recommend it with a super clean amp, although it's usable, but kinda bright/buzzy. Pushing an amp on the edge of break-up that brightness/buzziness translates to kerrang and sizzle, which I love. If you like smooth and creamy this pedal isn't for you, although it does sing with the drive set high.

What is most impressive, to me, is the clarity, even with the drive cranked up. I've never experienced anything like it.

I've compared it side by side with the OD-3 and they are completely different, so don't expect an updated version.

I've had dirt pedals from just about every boutique builder out there and the OD-1x is one of my favorites. It's not going to be for everyone, but I highly recommend at least trying it if you have the opportunity. You might be surprised.

2. adjason

adjason Friend of Leo's

I've not tried it but the od1 has been my go to for 25 years

Chunkocaster and 4pickupguy like this.
  3. JustABluesGuy

JustABluesGuy Friend of Leo's

Boss’s dirt offerings are often underated or even ignored, but I have several that I like quite a lot. Stack a couple of them, and you have a DIY boutique pedal for half the cost or less.

I get great results with mine, and have saved a lot by avoiding boutique pedals. I don’t have to worry about my pedals because they are easily replaceable.