boss katana and roland blues cube owners. Feedback needed!

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by DaphneBlue, Dec 17, 2018.

  1. DaphneBlue

    DaphneBlue Tele-Meister

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Hi there!

    I'm the very satisfied owner of a roland blues cube hot. I'm trying now to use the usb output on my computer.

    I've downloaded the driver for my OS so no problem concerning that.

    My concern is that the output from the amp is quite low on the track I've created on garageband. It seems like it's hard to obtain enough input signal from the amp to get a satisfying sound on the track.

    Am I playing too low? I've tried to turn the volume control and get a higher input on the track but it doesn't stay clean except if I turn the master but then the amp is loud in the room.

    Any idea of what can be done for that?

    Thanks!
     
  2. doolbon

    doolbon TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Location:
    california
    Could you plug headphones into the amp to mute the speaker?
     
    DaphneBlue likes this.
  3. DaphneBlue

    DaphneBlue Tele-Meister

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Oh that's brilliant!!! I'm gonna try that! Thank you so much!
     
  4. FenderGuy53

    FenderGuy53 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,887
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Marion, NC
    Duh... Anyway, I had both; still have my BCH!
     
    DaphneBlue likes this.
  5. DaphneBlue

    DaphneBlue Tele-Meister

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Location:
    Switzerland
    You've tried recording through the usb output?
     
  6. brookdalebill

    brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    59,510
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I am a Roland/Boss convert, devotee, maven, fan and proselytizer.
    I have 3 Cube 80s, 1 Katana 100, and 1 BCA 1-12.
    The Cubes go to my gigs, and studios most often.
    I get a Nextone when I can.
    I foolin’ love em’!
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2018
  7. Hexabuzz

    Hexabuzz Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,558
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    @DaphneBlue It's been a while since I recorded through the USB out on my Blues Cube Artist, but if I recall correctly, recording volume had nothing to do with the Master volume on the amp at all, and it was more of a line out signal, at the proper output.

    The individual channel volumes worked to control gain, but again, if I recall correctly, I had the Master completely down so I was only using my monitors for listening purposes. This was not only directly into a DAW, but also just into a standalone VST loader app to just play through the USB.

    I'll try and reconnect things and check it out again, but you might want to double check that you've got everything configured correctly.

    Or, if you're happy with the way things are, just keep doing it :)
     
    DaphneBlue likes this.
  8. FenderGuy53

    FenderGuy53 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,887
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Marion, NC
    No, my needs are basic - and I like to keep things simple
     
    DaphneBlue likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.