1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Boosting Drive Pedals

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Grandy, Apr 2, 2021.

1. Grandy

Grandy Tele-Holic

I have very little experience in stacking drive pedals or boosting them with clean boosters or eq pedals. I was wondering if there are some basic rules or guidelines about this. What type of drive pedals respond the best? Do overdrives behave different from fuzzes and so on?

I've never used more than one drive pedal on my board and I'm now considering getting an eq to do the boosting.

black_doug likes this.
  2. Fiesta Red

Fiesta Red Poster Extraordinaire

image.jpg
    I have used this MXR Micro Amp to boost overdrives, fuzzes, distortions and even other boost pedals, and it works every time...I call it the “More of Me” pedal—it just makes the tone bigger and richer without any EQ or coloration.

3. naveed211

naveed211 Friend of Leo's

There are no set rules. But yes, drive pedals will often react differently from fuzzes, and indeed react differently when considering pedal order, type, and application.

In front of your main drive pedal, the booster will usually saturate it more. Behind it, it will often work as a clean boost. It just depends if you want more perceived gain out of your sound or if you just want to be louder and bigger.

4. northernguitar

northernguitar Friend of Leo's

A treble booster is the best boost for an OD/distortion or fuzz pedal.

BGLeduc, telejnky and High Head Brad like this.
  5. johnnylaw

johnnylaw Tele-Afflicted

Experiment!
    Do your best in music stores, but they always sound different “live”.
    Your curiosity has a price tag; you need to think of this as an investment.
    Be careful not to invest too much into a solution looking for a problem.