Blond Tele Build is Complete (Success!)

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by Dr Chim Richalds, May 11, 2021.

1. Dr Chim Richalds

Dr Chim Richalds TDPRI Member

Hello,

I wanted to share my first tele build with the forum since so many of you have helped me with your wisdom along the way. This is a project that I started back in January and have recently completed assembling the guitar. The first part of this post will be what the guitar actually IS in it's completed state. I went through MANY iterations of ideas and finishes and ultimately this is what worked the best and what I was most happy with. The second part of this post is going to be all about what the guitar could have been. In this section I will detail what my idea was, the process I took, and why it didn't work out. I feel like I made about every rookie finishing mistake in the book (not that I'm a pro now by any means) and I think it could help out another novice such as myself. Hell maybe I can save someone a few dollars down the road...

Thank you to everyone that helped me with this along the way. This forum has been an incredible resource and it is so great to see everyone sharing their knowledge and having patience with beginners such as myself. I knew I would eventually finish this project with a playable guitar. What I never dreamed was that it would be as great as it turned out and is actually one of my most fun/best playing guitars.

But first - the TLDR summary and some pictures:
    • Body: Warmoth swamp ash
      • Finish: Mohawk blonde toner nitro, Mohawk clear nitro
    • Neck: Warmoth roasted maple
      • Nut: Graphtech TUSQ
      • Finish: not a finish perhaps, but I sealed the wood with a mixture of boiled linseed oil, Japan drier, and mineral spirits
      • Frets: 6105 stainless steel "jumbo"
    • Electronics:
      • Bridge: Lollar DB humbucker, 1M pot with coil split, volume control only
      • Neck: Lollar Strat Special, 250 pot, volume control only