Binding a finsihed guitar

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by IzzyDoesIt, Jan 19, 2020.

1. IzzyDoesIt

IzzyDoesIt TDPRI Member

I have never built a guitar before... I was wondering if binding a finished guitar is possible.
    I love the Fender Telecasters with a double binding front and back.
    I just got a D'Angelico Premier DC Grateful Dead guitar, she's beautiful! I love the look of the double binding on this guitar.

2. IzzyDoesIt

IzzyDoesIt TDPRI Member

D'Angelico Guitars Premier Grateful Dead DC_13a.png

3. Fretting out

Fretting out Friend of Leo's

I’m sure it is possible but... if you have no experience starting on a finished guitar probably isn’t going to turn out too good
    And it will never look as good as if it was bound before finishing

Are you planning on trying this or do you want it done ?

Dismalhead likes this.
  4. Steve Holt

Steve Holt Tele-Afflicted

Difficulty will depend on if the top and bottom is flat or contoured. If flat a router will easily be able to cut a proper channel. If it's contoured it gets more difficult.

Then you have to think about the finish chipping and breaking off where you cut the channel. That's what I'd be concerned about. I wonder if you scored the finish at the height of the binding all the way around to kind of break it into two pieces if that would prevent chipping. Then getting the binding perfectly flush with the body will require scraping and sanding which could further damage the finish.

I'd say if you're planning on refinishing the whole guitar go for it. If you're not, be prepared to refinish it afterwards because it may not turn out too great.

Dismalhead likes this.
  5. dogmeat

dogmeat Tele-Afflicted

there was a time when all that work was done by hand... no power tools. just something to think about

6. trev333

trev333 Telefied Ad Free Member

if the finished guitar has a roundover on the edge, it's going to be hard to make a channel for thin binding...