Binding 101

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Freeman Keller, Jan 24, 2020.

1. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Friend of Leo's

I’ve been thinking about doing a thread on binding for a while and suddenly there are multiple threads about it and one of my friends sending me e-mails. Plus, the weather is crappy outside and its too cold in the shop – maybe its time to talk about binding.

First, my normal disclaimer. I am not a luthier, just an average amateur guitar builder. I’m not a pro, I don’t sell them, I’ve made many of the mistakes but there are still a lot to make. The fact that I am not a pro maybe is fitting for this group – I’m like a lot of you.

I’ll show you things that have worked for me, things that I have learned from far better builders than I’ll ever be. However there are many other ways to do binding – you need to decide the best for yourself.

I’m also not a finishing expert. If and when we talk about finish it will again be the way I have learned to do it but there are many many other ways. We have a whole subforum at TDPRI devoted to finishing – I suggest you consult the many great threads there.

OK, with that taken care of, what is binding and why do we do it? Binding is some sort of protective and/or decorative material put around the edges of a guitar. Originally binding was used on acoustic instruments to protect the delicate end grain of spruce or cedar or other sound boards. That might not be as important on an electric guitar but its really important on an acoustic. Binding can hide the seam between the top and sides and in some cases strengthen it. And binding can be decorative – it can add contrast, different materials, and/or tie themes together.