Best Tele w/ rosewood fretboard for under $750

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by RYAN1987M, Jan 7, 2014.

1. RYAN1987M

RYAN1987M Tele-Holic Ad Free Member

Hello Fellow TDPRI'ers,

I'm quite new around these parts but I've really been enjoying myself thus far. Currently I'm on a quest to find my first Tele and I was hoping that you could help me narrow the field.

I'm looking for a Tele (or Tele-style guitar) with a rosewood fretboard.

Personally, I prefer the feel of rosewood under my fingers. I also prefer the look. Again, that's just my personal preference (I know I'm a noob - but I'm certainly not trying to start any kind of maple vs. rosewood discussion, I know you've had plenty of those to deal with around here, haha).

Anyhow, as I said, I'm looking for some help narrowing the field. It seems that most production Tele's come fitted with maple fretboards and Fender seems to have a lot less choice in terms of Tele models that are available with rosewood fretboards.

Just so you know, I have played a number of Squier CVC - they seem like a great value for the money, but I just find the neck profile to be too slim for my tastes.

I'm thinking about a CIJ/MIJ 62' Reissue...but finding one used, in Canada, is a bit of a mission. I'm also looking at the MIM Standards in Satin (which have the rosewood boards). I'm certainly open to buying something used, and I'm constantly keeping my eyes on my local Kijiji/CL to see what's out there.

Long story short, I'm looking to spend $750 USD or less. I'd just like to know what options are out there and which models I should consider. As I said, any advice would be greatly appreciated - thanks in advance!

Ryan

2. KevinB

KevinB Doctor of Teleocity

Might be tough in Canada, but on a good day in the US you might just find a new MIM Classic 60's for $750 after a discount from the normal $800 selling price. It truly is one of the best Teles Fender makes in any country.

[​IMG]

3. RobBnTX