Best replacement Bridge for MIM ?

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Brett Fuzz, Mar 6, 2014.

1. Brett Fuzz

Brett Fuzz Tele-Holic

Guys,

I have a 2011 MIM Tele.

I'd like to change the stock MIM bridge for a 3 saddle brass & one that will also fit the 'Ashtray' cover.

Any suggestions please ?

2. radio

radio Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

I forget if the hole spacing is the same, but I replaced my '92 6-saddle with a Glendale. The website didn't answer my questions, but a 5 minute phone call did. http://www.glendaleguitars.com/glendale16.htm

There are also other, less expensive options, but I have no experience with them as replacements.

3. waparker4

waparker4 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Any of the 3 saddle bridges should fit excepting maybe a cheap one pulled off some random off-shore import guitar... So... Fender, Glendale, rutters, Wilkinson, Callaham, hipshot, barden etc

Now some make 3 saddles that fit other things but it should be easy to shop for the vintage style

4. Rich_S

Rich_S Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

The BEST bridge for upgrading MIMs is the Wilkinson compensated 3-saddle. Helps with intonation, looks vintagey from 10 feet away, and the price is in line with a MIM. Putting $160 boutique bridge on a MIM doesn't make any sense to me, the Wilky is $30. I use them on all my Teles. They only problem is, I don't know if the ashtray fits on them; I can't for the life of me figure out how I'd play a Tele with an ashtray on it.

Here's a link to GFS, I'm sure there a source for these in Australia, too.

5. Colo Springs E

Colo Springs E Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

I went with Callaham 3-saddle design and was very pleased.

Attached Files:

6. KevinB

KevinB Doctor of Teleocity

There is no one "best". But there are lots and lots of choices in a 4-screw "vintage" style Tele bridge.

Fender, Kluson, Wilkinson, Barden will all be a direct replacement and will all take an ashtray cover.

7. Tuxedo Poly