Best Pawn/Thrift/Flea Finds

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Troubleandahalf, Jul 15, 2020.

1. Troubleandahalf

Troubleandahalf Tele-Afflicted

I desperately need a break from Excel and why can't I make the cursor move with the selection when I execute a vba macro.
    <Where my Coding Hard heads Here? >
    But I digress. Help me decompress; show me something cool you managed to grab.
    I'll start with this Jackson Pollock print. (8.99! Mueller Goodwill ATX)
    Never understood the whole abstract expressionism thing. Until I clocked this piece. I thought it was a satellite photo of a city at night. Then I pulled up and just, wow. I get it. You remove the plane of meaning and patterns, shapes, a story emerges. It's quite startling.
    As a musician I appreciate any inspiration.
    Cool cool. Now U No rules love gear related content. Just everyone here has heard about my guitar finds, ad nauseum, so I switch it up on this post. [​IMG]

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

2. Fiesta Red

Fiesta Red Friend of Leo's

My early-block-logo (1970’s) MXR Phase 90 was procured for $20 at a pawn shop in Cleburne, Texas...and it had the original box and book!

I also got an early Fender Mustang Bass for $99 at a pawn shop in Haltom City, Texas; I sold it for $450 that afternoon. My wife was so happy when I gave her that $100 profit I made...:D

harlycarly, Old Plank, Pualee and 9 others like this.
  3. Mike Eskimo

Mike Eskimo Telefied Ad Free Member

My favorite record store of the 80s was Broadway records in lake Orion.
    Great variety of records that the owners dad procured trolling estate sales garage sales and flea markets.

Dad went to find electronics and tubes and things to mess with in the back of the store.

When he would get an old portable TV or record player or something working, he put it in the Front of store and sell it for 15 to 20 bucks.