Best Online Country Guitar Course

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by dcupright, Jul 17, 2019.

1. dcupright

dcupright TDPRI Member

i am a long time bass player/ acoustic guitar( strummer ) looking to get into playing country lead and backup. What are some good online sources to get there in 2019, I have very little lead experience so nothing too advanced.

Thanks in advance

2. twangjeff

twangjeff Tele-Afflicted

I would suggest starting with learning songs and then start fleshing that out with theory/technique. Start with the Merle Haggard/ Buck Owens stuff. A lot of the James Burton/Roy Nichols/Don Rich stuff is musically interesting, but not at all technically demanding. It's all stuff that pretty much any beginner guitar player should be able to play.

Ken Carlson, who I believe is a member here, has a great site that breaks down songs and shows the signature parts. That is where I would start.

McGlamRock likes this.
  3. ndcaster

ndcaster Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

youtube

and its playback speed adjustment options

first position stuff:

Luther Perkins
    Lester Flatt's run

then learn neighboring major triad inversions on the top three strings

figure out the most common country bends: there are a few to get right away

play around with this stuff till you can do it in your sleep

then major and minor pentatonic scales, once you visualize how they move you through chord shapes

this will give you the fretboard foundation for learning the common vocabulary

learn *songs*

4. McGlamRock

McGlamRock Friend of Leo's

5. eclipse

eclipse Tele-Meister

6. G-52

G-52 Tele-Meister

Jason Loughlin @Truefire.com:)

7. Crowcaster

Crowcaster Tele-Holic

sixstringcountry.com

Theory and Song lessons.

$10/month, but look for a coupon giving you the first month free.

Texicaster and Don Miller like this.
  8. Texicaster

Texicaster Tele-Holic

I'm digging the Redd Volkeart lessons on Truefire!