Best Custom Shop?

Joeyb817

TDPRI Member
I’ve been putting my collection together for better part of 20 years now. Took some time to figure out what was good what I liked. Always trading up, this and that.
9664DF12-0760-419F-AF8F-FB746ED3E86D.jpeg

Fender Custom Shop Dual Mag ii ☝🏻.
Roasted body and neck.
This guitar has great pickups. Combination of Alnico 5 - 2 pickups.
The guitar came to me with a pin straight neck, zero relief. Low, low action. Buzzed all over. I set the neck relief to .10” and raised the action to 4 64ths across the 12th fret. Still buzz.
Set the neck pin straight again, put more pressure on the string tree by lowering it. Decked the bridge, 4 64ths across. No buzz. Guitar plays great. Killer tone. I love this guitar. Medium chunky C shape profile. Fret work has some high spots up high. Guess that’s normal, they’ll level out with some playing. She sounds great unplugged too. Love this guitar. 7.2 pounds.

0254F4AA-D6EA-4605-B00C-E3B584EB7D82.jpeg

Gibson Custom Shop 1963 SG Junior ☝🏻.
No issues with first setup. Great fret work. This guitar can do everything. Any amp, any pedal. Country, Rock n Roll Soft or Heavy. 50s style, whatever.
A beast. I can chop your head off with this thing. I love this guitar, it plays itself. Chug on this, no buzz. Killer rhythm, leads.
Unplugged its thin sounding but plugged in, unbelievable. They set the neck tenon the way they did it in the old days. I’ve had several SGs over the years, this is the best one. 6.5 pounds.
B62CB7D1-3FE8-4F69-B807-9AC7935D4330.jpeg

Custom Shop G&L ASAT ☝🏻.
I think I’m the third owner of this guitar. I bought it a few years ago from a kid downtown Manhattan. $1200. He said his uncle gave it to him. There was a receipt in the case from a Guitar Center in the Midwest, used $1500.
Guitar wasn’t played. The fret work perfect. Guitar weighs 6.5 pounds.