1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Best books to learn jazz & blues

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Benjobobs, Apr 12, 2021.

1. Benjobobs

Benjobobs TDPRI Member

Hi TDPRI members,

I'm a recent addition to the forum.

Long story short: I've been playing guitar for 20 years, had lessons to begin with when I was a teen but since then have just been a 'strummer' of sorts & was quite happy with that.

Recently I've picked up electric guitar again (my first Tele) & I've been studying a bit of music theory online to get a bit more of a theoretical back ground.

But what I am looking for are the best books to learn jazz & blues guitar. I've been a rock & pop man for 20 years but in the last few years I've stopped listening to a lot of what I used to & I mainly listen to jazz/blues (plus a lot of classical/ambient/african/world etc. alongside some more avant garde pop stuff) & that's what I want to learn to play.

I want book(s) because I'm on a computer for a lot of the day & I don't find computers great for learning.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated - in print or out of print - for reference I'm in the UK & have access to both good local music shops & of course the evil empire of Amazon.

Thank you! :)

2. Novak

Novak Tele-Meister

This might help get you started (hope this uploads):

Attached Files:

Frankie, Deeve, jays0n and 1 other person like this.
  3. Benjobobs

Benjobobs TDPRI Member

Thanks Novak. I should have said I've got the free e-books for the Jazzguitar.be website which are fine (& would be better if I printed them off!) & this is not dissimilar I think (I will also print it off).

I wondered if there were any 'classic tomes' that people swear by?

4. WingedWords

WingedWords Friend of Leo's

5. BigDaddyLH

BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member