Bender lessons

Discussion in 'B-Bender Forum' started by Skintknuckle, Jan 20, 2019.

1. Skintknuckle

Skintknuckle TDPRI Member

Hello everyone! Rare poster here but long time lurker. I’ve been playing bender guitar now for ~3 years. It has become my main guitar for gigging. Just wondering where each of you finds the best lessons and/or instruction videos. I have Forrest’s videos which are great, Will Ray has some cool instruction videos on the web, and I find things on YouTube and here (thank you) that are helpful. I really wish I could find a Clarence White or Marty Stuart “method” video that tears it all down. Those two artists are my favorites. Marty’s HummyngByrd is a 301 course in Bender guitar. Seems modeled after Nashville West but seemingly has every conceivable bender lick imaginable. Would love to find an instruction video on it if anyone knows of one. Keep on bendin’

2. Rick Towne

Rick Towne Tele-Afflicted

I think there have been lists compiled over the years at the Clarence White Forum and here more recently. Check the CWF if it is still open.

Sone of Albert Lee’s instructional materials have songs with his Kubicki Tele with Evans bender.

Jimmy Olander has posted a lot of clips on Facebook with his Glaser double-bender.

I’ve just listened to and compiled recordings of every player I could find. Some of the better recordings feature Al Perkins, Bob Warford (not Linda Ronstadt), Frank Reckard (Emmylou Harris) and the Bernie Leadon cuts on the first three Eagles albums.

3. Rick Towne

Another good practice is to use the bender on non-country songs. For good example, go through some of Bill Frosell’s recent recordings with Greg Leisz available on you tube.

4. BladeStratford

BladeStratford Tele-Meister

You'll never hear me claim to offer "the best" bender lessons but I will lay claim to "the most" with my YouTube channel! I recently broke down a Marty bender solo you may enjoy with more Marty lessons planned for the near future.