1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Beginner pedal: Blender

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by JuneauMike, Mar 1, 2021.

1. JuneauMike

JuneauMike Poster Extraordinaire

I've never built a pedal before but I've been leaning toward taking finally taking on a project. I've got a couple of utility pedals in mind that I think would be useful. One of them is a simple blender pedal.

Anyone have a confirmed schematic or know of a kit that will allow me to blend an effects signal with the clean signal? I would want it to have the ability to swap polarity in case there's a phase issue. I don't think it needs a buffer, but I could be wrong about that. I don't know that it needs a footswitch (the blender would take care of that itself, right?) but again, I don't really know.

Are there any challenges to the blender circuit that a beginner should watch out for?

2. Mark the Moose

Mark the Moose Tele-Afflicted

Nickfl likes this.
  3. Mark the Moose

Mouser is a good supplier but can be overwhelming. Tayda is cheap and usually has what I need. Small Bear is also solid.

Nickfl likes this.
  4. JuneauMike

5. JuneauMike

Just bought the Buff n Blend PCB and some parts. Guess I'm committed now.

Question for another pedal I'm kinda thinking about. I was interested in a junction box that included one buffered input and a buffered output. Can I wire the same buffer to both, or do they need to be isolated with their own separate buffer circuits? A newbie question, I know.

6. tvas22

tvas22 Tele-Meister

I might be misunderstanding, but what exactly are you wanting to do? If you wanted to go buffer out to a pedal, or a pedal to a buffer, you could do that with just a buffer pedal that you put in the chain before or after a pedal.