1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Been itching to get building a tele

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by jbyers, Jan 24, 2021.

1. jbyers

jbyers TDPRI Member

I’m an intermediate level woodworker, I’ve mostly focused on humidors, jewelry boxes etc up to this point. Check out beaglecitywoodworks on insta if you wanna see what I’ve been up to. I came into some beautiful bookmatched quilted maple (pic attached) and over at sawmill creek the consensus was that the only way to do it proper justice was to build a guitar. Now I don’t play guitar, and honestly barely know how they work, but I bought a book, and I think with some help I can get through it. So my plan is as follows, mahogany body with a maple cap. Rear routed tele, no pick guard, and a warmoth neck (if this goes well, I’ll make a neck for my next one, but I want to keep it pretty simple). So what I was hoping for clarity on is what exactly I should pick up for pots, 3way, pickups, bridge, tuners, and other stuff (jack?, strap buttons?). I feel like I’m already in over my head, so I’m trying to keep afloat.

just reading though this forum the past month it’s pretty easy to see that this forum is the perfect resource for this build.

Attached Files:

crazydave911 and TeleUpNorth like this.
  2. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member

2(250K) CTS pots are good. They come in various shaft lengths. CRL 3 way switch, Gotoh Tuners are good bang for the buck. Wilkinson vintage bridge with compensated brass saddles or a Fender one. Fender style Strap buttons vs Gibson style, and a switchcraft 1/4" phono jack. These are all things I use. Ebay has them. Philadelphia Luthiers supply is a good source. Dont forget a capacitor. You can buy this stuff prewired too.