Becoming more "melodic"

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Axegrinder77, Dec 6, 2019.

1. Axegrinder77

Axegrinder77 Tele-Meister

So I have an idea...

First the background:

I find myself more of a rhythm player. No necessarily by choice, but rather that i'm just not very melodic. I suppose it's partially from spending many of my playing years strumming chords to accompany my own vocals. I have classical training and took jazz lessons 20 years ago, which I found confusing and didn't lead me really anywhere.

Fast forward... I'd like to develop my lead playing. I think i'm a better guitarist than singer, but I digress.

My idea, is to start looping songs or using vocalist backing track (karaoke), and *play* the vocal melody on my guitar. Songs i'm familiar with. I'll suck at it at first I think... which will underline my issue. How can I be considered a musician if I can't play simple melodies?

My hope is that the learning curve is relatively quick. I'll start to gain confidence, adding in tasteful bends and slides etc. Am I missing something, or is the a great way to become a melodic lead player?

Thanks for reading. I'd be interested to know if anyone else has used this approach.

Axe

Hiker and RoarDog like this.
  2. RoarDog

RoarDog Tele-Meister

I did this exact method emulating vocals on tracks like Georgia on my mind, Amazing Grace, some Ben Harper stuff etc. The one caveat is that I would focus on one string linear like playing to force myself "out of the box" so to speak.

3. naveed211

naveed211 Tele-Meister

Learn melodic guitar solos. Start easy, something like Smells Like Teen Spirit (or insert easy solo from band you like), something where it follows the vocal melody kind of like the idea you have.

Then you can move on to more challenging ones. I think Boston licks are often really melodic, as example. Depends what music you like but you get what I mean.

Axegrinder77 likes this.
  4. naveed211

naveed211 Tele-Meister