BBD delay builds, anyone built one, any recommendations

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by trancedental, Nov 9, 2018.

1. trancedental

trancedental Tele-Meister

After building a 1776 Multiplex Echo c/w the modulation pcb, which I really like for that old school classic pseudo tape style delay (even though it uses a PT2399 chip), I was wondering what other delays / echo diy projects forum members on the tdpri have built.

I started playing in bands just after the digital delays had just become popular, tape delays & even the earlier generation of BBD (Bucket Brigade Delays) were suddenly out of fashion, so I never got the chance to really try those out.

I've always wanted to play a Memory Man Deluxe, but that that was expensive back in the day & still is. Madbean pedals have a diy MMD project & also a Boss DM-2 BBD delay.

There are a few other BBD diy PCB's available but most diy projects are PT2399 based. Madbean even have a PT2399 version of the Memory Man deluxe which is a lot cheaper to build. The Maxon AD-900 sounds like another classic BBD delay to check out but I've never heard one in real life.

I've even got the Lexicon PCM 81 & PCM MXP1 digital rack multi effects but would still like to build a BBD delay, I've probably got half the components needed already!

Anyway tell us about the delay / echo diy builds that you have made.

2. Greenmachine

Greenmachine Tele-Holic

I made two way huge aqua pusses in a single enclosure that sounds pretty great every time I switch it on.

trancedental likes this.
  3. ICTRock

ICTRock Tele-Afflicted

the dirtbaby is a pretty great delay and a great way to approach the dmm in a budget friendly manner. ultimately, budget is going to be the big factor here when delay chips are 20-25 bucks ... the madbean aquaboy is a single chip, the dmm is two

trancedental likes this.
  4. Greenmachine

Greenmachine Tele-Holic