Battling rust in the workshop/garage

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by TelenTubes, May 18, 2020.

1. TelenTubes

TelenTubes Tele-Holic

Okay, most of the tools I own I've de-rusted/cleaned a half dozen times. Any suggestions on keeping things rust-free while storing your tools? I've had a bit better luck storing hand planes and saws in a wooden cabinet which seems to absorb moisture before the iron does.

Even my tool cabinet rusted on the side. Ridiculous. Anyways, trying to find a good source for pure camphor blocks to put in the cabinets and chests, but was at Big Box store tonight looking for an entry level welder (no luck at all), and saw this: How about some brand new rust, lol?

IMG_0751.jpg

verb boten and drf64 like this.
  2. Guitardvark

Guitardvark Tele-Holic

I hose all my tools with wd 40 then wipe em down, put em up wrapped in shop towels. no rust. its maybe excessive but I make my living with them tools.

3. drf64

drf64 Poster Extraordinaire

I'm sure you own a wire wheel. It's my most used power tool. For things like pliers, screw drivers, wrenches, sockets and your hex keys, it's the only way. Not much else you can do. When they get rusty, go shine em up on the wire wheel. For big tools like pipe wrences, I liberally grease the adjusting knurl once every few years.

4. TelenTubes

TelenTubes Tele-Holic

I have a wire wheel. And a garbage pail that periodically gets filled with Evaporust for cleaning soaking tools. But crap.

Heck, I know I should use the tools more, then they wouldn't rust as much. But I have a strict once-a-year limit on excessive post-hole digging.

5. Hammerdog

Hammerdog Tele-Meister

Controlling the humidity in your shop is the only way to keep your tools
    rust free, and your lumber at the correct moisture level.
    I have a 30x40 shop/mancave, it’s air conditioned in the spring and summer. In the winter I run a wood stove and/or a dehumidifier.
    50% humidity works good for me. Your in Waco, I’m in East Texas,