Bassman power transformer question

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by fast960, Dec 15, 2019.

  1. fast960

    fast960 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello, I've sourced a Mercury transformer that says its for a boutique bassman 50 watt amp. They say it would get a 430v B+ voltage. It has 168-0-168 secondaries ..... how do I wire this for proper voltage?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. tubelectron

    tubelectron Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    727
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Location:
    France
    In accordance with your diagram, the only way to obtain 430VDC is to use the Blue and Grey taps to obtain 168+168=336VAC, to be rectified by a rectifier bridge. You don't use the center tap (Yellow).

    -tbln
     
  3. BobbyZ

    BobbyZ Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    12,093
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Snellman MN
    Which Bassman are you trying to build?
    Off the top of my head those voltages seem too low for any of the normally cloned ones like the last tweed, or any of the brown or blackfaces.
    Plus no 5v winding for the tube rectifier ones and what's with that 12 volt winding?
     
  4. fast960

    fast960 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    Thank-you! I'm building a bassman/jtm45 type amp .... it doesn't have to be exact and I'm not using a tube rectifier ....
     
  5. fast960

    fast960 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    if I use this wired for 338v does my 300ma current change to 150ma?
     
  6. fast960

    fast960 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    also, could the 14v winding be configured for a tube rectifier if I changed plans and decide to use one? GZ34?
     
  7. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    33,855
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I would talk to the folks at MM...they are very helpful, imho, when discussing their products.
    It seems that the voltage will be high for the circuits that you are saying you are wanting to build.....if I understand what to expect. But perhaps not.
    That 14vac winding Resembles a circuit for power to some solid state circuit functions, imho.
     
    BobbyZ, Teleguy61 and Snfoilhat like this.
  8. fast960

    fast960 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks guys ... I did speak to MM and they said what you confirmed. No rectifier tube and not to use centertap for 338v. This was one of their "Y" stock ebay transformers so its a bit unorthodox. Thanks again for your quick and right on responses! Cheers
     
    BobbyZ and Wally like this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.