Bass amp recommendation

Discussion in 'The BASS Place' started by onlybrowning, Mar 21, 2013.

1. onlybrowning

onlybrowning Tele-Meister

Hi guys, it's been a while, but I am in need of a bass amp to keep up with my band. I am a rhythm guitar player, but I am filling in on bass for a short time. I have a Peavey TKO 115 but it lacks the headroom to keep up without plugging in to the PA for rehearsals. Can you guys give me some size requirements, etc on what will work better?

I'm struggling here because my little 18 watt Dr.Z is barely on and screams with guitar. I'm very new to this, so your advice is appreciated! Thank you.

2. SamClemons

SamClemons Poster Extraordinaire

TKO is a fairly powerfull amp, so you must be letting it rip. It take like 4 times the power to double the volume. I would be shopping craigslist. I can live with most bass amps in good working order. I am actually more picky to get good speakers and.....there is nothing at all wrong with going to the PA, in fact if what you are playing is so loud the TKO is not big enough, that is probably the way I would go.

Your rehersals must be pretty loud, another option is to turn it down.

3. willpayne

willpayne TDPRI Member

I second that. Try turning down and save your ears and money.

4. trailboss

trailboss Tele-Meister

Izzit in ancient TKO or one of the new models? Older ones should have powered/external speaker jack on the back, and will pull a total load of 2 ohms. So, you could basically plug in any 8 or 4 ohm cab as a powered extension. Easier and cheaper is to put the amp on a chair. Your main culprit is probably that the speaker is aimed at your knees and not your ears :) Also check the power rating. I played one last month (supplied backline) that was only 65 watts. Had to run it on "8" just to be barely heard.

5. eddie knuckles

eddie knuckles Tele-Afflicted

[​IMG]