1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Banjo Upgrades, Am I on The Right Track???

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by magicfingers99, Sep 5, 2019.

1. magicfingers99

magicfingers99 Friend of Leo's

Need some input from the craftsman around here. I'm not really technical, often have problems figuring out which end of the screwdriver is the business end...

I was recently given a banjo, which was a nice gesture, I think they must have heard my guitar playing and wanted me to do somethin else.

I don't play banjo, so I want to convert it to a guitar, I think if I just take the neck off and put a guitar neck on there, and then take the body off and put a guitar body on there and then throw away the strings and get some real guitar strings. I can accomplish the conversion.

Does this sound like the correct order to do things, or is there a different technique I should pursue in modifying the banjo.

it looks like this
    upload_2019-9-5_10-14-44.jpeg

and I want to convert it to look like this:
    upload_2019-9-5_10-15-56.jpeg

its pretty heavy, it might have some tone wood I can salvage out of the banjo and make picks or something out of.

well let me know if you've done something like this and how long it takes and how much work and money is involved, so I can figure out whether to pursue this course of action or just use it for a canoe paddle or something.

Wildcard_35 and Chunkocaster like this.
  2. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member

deleted

3. trapdoor2

trapdoor2 Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

They certainly make better canoe paddles than electric guitars. If the neck is mahogany, it will make a better end-table. If it is maple, it is much better suited to a butcher block.

Random1643 likes this.
  4. teletimetx

teletimetx Doctor of Teleocity