1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Baja vs Highway One Tele pickups: Tell me more.

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Snufkinoob, May 23, 2011.

1. Snufkinoob

Snufkinoob Tele-Meister

So I've got a Baja tele, used, at a good price, but really just don't like the blonde paintjob. So I was thinking about taking off the neck, pups and electrics and putting them on a sunburst body of some kind.

However, I've come across a HWY1 body, fully loaded, sans neck, and was considering just sticking my Baja neck on there and be done with it.

I'm not a recording musician, I'm not super-picky about my tone and don't really play a particular style, although Anna Calvi's tone did get me into telecaster's, no idea which model she uses. I've tried linking a good youtube clip but every way I try it won't work, but it's this one here.

But what's the real difference between the tones of these two tele's pickups? Baring in mind I don't really use the "S1" modes, and I do like the standard parallel position for both pups.

Anyway, I've asked this on another forum and just end up getting generic, knee-jerk, possibly uninformed; "Baja pickups are better" type answers so I figured this would be the best place to post for a more objective, or at least useful response.

Also, oddly enough this HWY1 body seems to have the same S1 switching as the baja, which I didn't know existed. So what's the deal with that? Any more useful than than the Baja version?

Thanks.

2. BradL

BradL Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

The Baja pickup set is the same as in many a custom shop Tele and they're pretty decent combination. I especially like the Twisted Neck pup which gives a really good account of itself.

Since I've not played a HW1 Tele in a while I'll leave the comments on those to others.

3. ADK Teleman