Backup rig

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by sliberty, Nov 19, 2017.

1. sliberty

sliberty Tele-Afflicted

I am a tube amp guy, through and through. I am a hobby amp builder in fact, and most of my amps are home built. Trainwreck Express, Blackface Bassman, Brown Princeton Amp, Blackface Princeton Amp, and the one commercial amp I own is a Vox AC10C1.

I've started to feel like I should have a backup rig in case my amp craps out at a gig or rehearsal, but don't feel like carrying two amps around. So, I've built a small pedalboard system that can either be used to drive a speaker cabinet, or can go direct to a PA. The photo shows the board with a 30 watt Mooer Baby Bomb amplifier installed, but you can also see my DI (off to the left) which can be swapped in for the Mooer when appropriate.

What are you guys doing for backup rigs?

[​IMG]

Dismalhead likes this.
  2. thegeezer

thegeezer Tele-Afflicted

I gig with a '54 5d3 Deluxe. I only recently began to carry a spare because I've only had an amp get cantankerous (but not actually fail) once in 50 years.

I'm doing it at my bandmates request, but I understand. I toss my 5e3 clone in the truck for the ride. It's light and would get me by. Bet I never use it.

nojazzhere likes this.
  3. sliberty

sliberty Tele-Afflicted

I was at a rehearsal a few months ago, and the amp I was using is my Brown Princeton Amp copy. The 6v6's were NOS RCAs, and man they sounded great right up until the point the amp died :)

Turned out that the 6V6s failed, and took out my power transformer. I replaced the tranny, filter caps, rectifier tube, power tubes and rebuilt the power supply, and the amp is back and sounding great.

Rare occurrence? Maybe. But had this happened at a gig, it would have been gig over. In this case, there were spare amps at the home where we rehearse. But I will have this pedalboard sized backup rig in my trunk from now on.

4. Chicago Slim

Chicago Slim Tele-Afflicted