B+ Voltage on my 5E3 is 417v - Help!

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by JCMNelson, Jul 7, 2009.

1. JCMNelson

JCMNelson TDPRI Member

Sorry to hog the forum, I'm a bit of a noob, and this is SO helpful!

Right, so first thing is to get rid of the Sovtek 5Y3, so I've ordered a NOS Jan Philips. But from what I've read this is only going to reduce the voltage by 20-40v, so I'll still have at least 377v, maybe even 397v?

My understanding is that the ideal B+ voltage for the 5E3 is in the region of 350v - 360v, is this right? Replacing the PT is not really an option, so how would I go about reducing the voltage to this?

Thanks for the help!

2. EdMax

EdMax Tele-Meister

#1 Get rid of the Sovtek 5Y3 good for around 40V drop in most cases
    #2 The 6V6's will not all load the circuit the same. If you find that Brand A loads to around 375V, brand B might load down to 350V.
    #3 The bias setting will also influence the anode voltage, recheck your max dissipation. You might need to change out the cathode resistor.

The 5E3 I just had on the bench 25 minutes ago was running at 363V at the anodes(plates)using JJ 6V6's and an RCA 5Y3.
    20V across the cathode resistor.
    350V on screens

3. JohnnyCrash

JohnnyCrash Doctor of Teleocity Gold Supporter

Using a "proper" 5Y3 will help.

Is this from a kit, scratch built, or reissue? Is the proper PT being used?

Biasing the 6V6's right will also help. What cathode resistor value is in there now? Have you measured to calculate for voltage, current, and dissipation?

Here's the voltages of the 5E3 reissue as listed on its schematic:

370 (off rectifier)
    320 (after 4.7k resistor)
    250 (after 22k resistor)
    204 (V2, pin 6)
    165 (V2, pin 1)

My build measures 354 on the plates with a 5Y3. With my SS rectifier switch on, I have 405, which is safe for some modern 6V6's.

4. JCMNelson

JCMNelson TDPRI Member