1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

As promised our first two songs.....

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by FortyEight, Nov 30, 2020.

1. FortyEight

FortyEight Tele-Holic

I want to make a lot of excuses and I'm sensitive, so go on easy on me please. LOL. I mean if you have mean or harsh comments I'd rather you not.

I do know that the recordings are not that great. I'm just learning how to do any recording. The only recordings I've ever had like control of was with simple 4 track stuff in the 90's. So there is very little mixing and engineering going on. LOL. So both my drummer and I figure it's a learn as you go proposition and the early songs I knew weren't going to be that good.

For the song I did for my Mom's Birthday (70X7), we both had a cheap CAD USB mic. The second song I did for my Son's birthday(FASTFORWARD20) I had a friend loan me an SM58 and an M-Audio interface which upped my sound tremendously on the vocals, bass and guitar. But the drummer still had the usb mic. He then bought a presonus interface and an SM58 (yes I know I know everyone loves 57's, I like 58's) and he also had an AKG mic in his plethora of music stuff. So now we're doing 2 tracks of good mics and it sounds a heck of a lot better for the drums. The reason we didn't spend more time mixing and mastering or any effects cuz we were under a time crunch with these. I wanted to play them for their birthdays. My Mom's was October 27th and my Son's was the 31st.

We are into our 5th song almost done tracking and the sounds of 3,4 and 5 are getting better. 3 and 4 will be posted at Christmas I think. Or around there. First of the year type thing.