Are You Self Taught?

Discussion in 'The BASS Place' started by robert spencer, Dec 2, 2012.

1. robert spencer

robert spencer Tele-Holic

Are you self taught or did you learn through insruction.
    Does it matter in the beginning?
    Does it matter in the end?
    Do you read music?
    Do you read in the bass clef?
    Do you use tablature when learning a song.
    Curiosity on my part. Take care. Bob

2. Bush Wiebe

Bush Wiebe Tele-Meister

As a kid growing up my Dad bugged me incessantly to learn the guitar but I wasn't interested. Then when I hit 17 I caught the bug, got a guitar, and asked him to teach me. He said, "No way, if I teach you how to play then you'll end up sounding like me and I want you to sound like you. Go to your room with that guitar and get to work."

So I used whatever tools I had available to me whether it be Youtube or instruction books or tips from friends but it was all driven by my own desire to be a guitar player. I think it made me take the long way around to playing well, but in the end I appreciate what my Dad did. And I do think I sound like me.

But he still could of showed me a few chords at least :rolleyes::p

3. Lunchie

Lunchie Poster Extraordinaire

Self taught 15 or so years ago, currently taking lessons from a trained classical guitarist.

Yes because now I am trying to correct years of bad habits.

Yes because I dont know how many thousands of hours I wasted trying to figure things out on my own. If I had structure I would of been a much better player then I am now.

Yes with the help of said instructor. That is something that a lot of guitarist and even guitar teachers can not do. I may suck but at least I know what the notes mean ;)

Guitar music is in Treble Clef but if I picked up a bass I would.