1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Are some builds just DUDS?

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by HBamps, Dec 12, 2008.

1. HBamps

HBamps Tele-Meister

I am new to the world of making / assembling guitars and am working on my first Tele build. I thought I’d just order what I thought were quality components, take my time and put everything together using the wealth of knowledge here.

Well, I got it together and I am tweaking it up and down, attempting to get it to sound GREAT and nothing seems to be working. I mean it sounds ok but there is still much to be desired. All electronics aside, I feel that the energy transfer from the strings to the saddles, nut, neck & body are just not all on the same page. It almost feel like when I strum a chord, the body resonates and some other frequency. When I pick up my other Tele (made by Danocaster), the strummed note and the body / neck vibration is the same (the same fundamental frequency). That guitar’s parts are definitely on the same team where on my build they don’t seem to know they are connected to each other….

My question is; Are some builds just duds? Do some necks simply not work with some bodies? I am not sure what to try next. I am considering at the following;
    - Nut
    - Saddles (currently 5/16 diameter brass)
    - Tuners
    - String furrels
    - Neck joint
    - Bridge to body joint

Can any of you suggest anything to try to help me get this thing to jive a little better.

Thanks!

2. Old Cane

Old Cane Poster Extraordinaire

Well, what have you got now? You kind of left that out. But yeah, you are assembling parts but you still have to know how to build a guitar. Sure you can have a dud.

3. twangcaster1

twangcaster1 Friend of Leo's