Anyone using an aby pedal to run 2 amps simultaneously?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Cheap guitar guy, May 13, 2019.

  1. DavidP

    DavidP Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,440
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    i have run a SFDR and 5E3 with a Radial Twin City ABY --seamless!
    In my experience you don't skimp on an ABY switcher --get one with isolated outputs and polarity reverse!
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
    rze99 likes this.
  2. magicfingers99

    magicfingers99 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,141
    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Location:
    atlanta
    here's how brian may sets his stuff up:





    this a handy aby pedal, its like a crescent wrench it does everything.
    BOSS ls-2 line selector. (great for mixing dry and wet signals)
    and lots of other things...

    upload_2019-5-13_17-17-43.jpeg
     
  3. RoscoeElegante

    RoscoeElegante Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,293
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Location:
    TooFarFromCanada
    Radial Tonebone. Works great. Useful features (ground lift, boosting, etc.). Can't recommend it enough.
     
    rze99 likes this.
  4. Geo

    Geo Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    70
    Posts:
    4,575
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hendersonville, TN
    I have used A/B/Y ones but mainly just use a delay pedal with both a wet and dry output when
    both amps are sounding on always. Running a very slight delay setting really gives a very full sound.
    The slight delay note just tags onto the dry note.
     
    Pasta Player likes this.
  5. stratoman1

    stratoman1 Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,738
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Another Radial Tonebone user here.
     
  6. Cheap guitar guy

    Cheap guitar guy Tele-Meister

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    May 4, 2019
    Location:
    PA
    You guys are awesome with the knowledge on this stuff.
     
  7. Fluddman

    Fluddman Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    227
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I've got the Lehle and it is fantastic but pricey. I became pretty obsessive about hum and the Lehle did the job eliminating it.

    But as an earlier poster mentioned - a stereo rig is probably too much hassle for most of my gigs.
     
    Pasta Player likes this.
  8. brbadg

    brbadg Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    1,422
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Timonium,Maryland

    No, don't do the Morley.Noisy as hell.
     
  9. Tuneup

    Tuneup Tele-Meister

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah I have the Mimiq, it's nice, thickens things up.
     
  10. Chunkocaster

    Chunkocaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,571
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Location:
    In space with Ziggy
    I planned to but I bought a radial big shot aby pedal some years back and it arrived smelling burnt and didn't work. I'm too tight to pay for a fancy tonebone so gave up on the idea. I still have the burnt smelling big shot. I'll have to pull it apart and see what's wrong with it at some point. Strange that it might have burnt out considering I didn't think they needed power supply other than for the lights.
     
  11. DrPepper

    DrPepper Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    1,553
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Location:
    Texas
    Ground lift...
     
    rze99 likes this.
  12. GibbyTwin

    GibbyTwin Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere between Asbury Park and Atlantic City
    Another thumbs-up for the Radial Bigshot!
     
  13. fatcat

    fatcat Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,029
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    Very Deep South
    I use the Radial big-shot a/b/y.

    No power supply needed.
    Has built in isolation transformer; a phase flip; and ground lift switching.

    I'm using some combination of similar power amps; Ac15c1, Princeton Reverb, and orange TT.

    Works out great for me. You can see my switcher on the upper left of my pedal board.

    IMG_20190511_082415647_HDR.jpg
     
  14. rze99

    rze99 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,024
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    South London UK
    ...curious.. please let us know how you are using this in the signal chain with the Radial Tonebone in terms of, specifically, where the signal splits happen with this pedal and the radial. thank you.
     
  15. ddewerd

    ddewerd Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Willow Springs, Great-State-of-Texas
    I use an A/B switcher going the other way - 2 guitars into one amp.

    I have messed around with two amps though. I use an all-in-one Digitech RP500 that has stereo outputs. You can get some really cool and huge effects. Not just the ping pong or swirling chorus, but stuff like having the reverb or doubling go to the second amp.

    But it was way more than I wanted to mess with. Heck, half the time we can barely fit our trio on stage, much less another amp! And it seemed more like a gimmick that wasn't really worth it. Fun to play around with, but didn't add enough to justify hauling extra gear and taking the time to fine tune all the adjustments.

    Not quite the same thing that's being discussed here though...

    Cheers,
    Doug
     
  16. Tuneup

    Tuneup Tele-Meister

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Location:
    USA
    I don't have a splitter (well I do now I purchased one today but haven't received it) I used the Mimiq to thicken up solos etc, it works quite well for me.

    If you mean how I use the Mimiq, it's just one cable in one out like any footpedal, I have never ran 2 amps at the same time but I am going to try it out when I receive the Radial.
     
  17. rze99

    rze99 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,024
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    South London UK
    Ok thanks it looks like the Mimiq itself acts as the splitter but I've not tried one myself.
     
  18. Ironwolf

    Ironwolf Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    7,987
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    My signal passes through my wah, compressor, boost and, drive pedals and then into the Radial Bigshot. The signal is then split to the front inputs of both the Fender and the Marshall with a separate output to the tuner. The ambient effects (chorus, flanger, delay, tremolo, and reverb) then receive their signal from the Marshalls FX loop out and send to the FX in. The pedal board holds all the pedals plus the switch boxes for the Fender, the Marshall, and my Vox (for when I choose to use it.)
     
    Cheap guitar guy likes this.
  19. brianswindall

    brianswindall Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,583
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    I run two amps through a Line Six DL4 so I can loop at the same time.
     
  20. LGOberean

    LGOberean Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    10,348
    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, Texas
    I can't find mine to take a pic of it, so I'll have to borrow one from the Internet...
    [​IMG]

    I have done it where two guitars were going into one amp, but I have most often used my ABY box to send my guitar signal out to two amps. I've messed around with it at home, using differing pairs of amps. I have on several occasions gigged with this arrangement. It's fun to do.

    Oh, and the LiveWire Solutions ABY Box is $50, no bells and whistles. Opinions already expressed here (and in other threads like this one in times past) all but outright say that this unit can't be a good one, but I've never had any issues using it, at home or at gigs.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.