Anyone use the second input of your amp?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by tap4154, Nov 24, 2021.

  1. Maguchi

    Maguchi Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,502
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Location:
    Lalaland
    Yup use 'em both (or 2 out of 4 on Tweeds). Often at the same time, switching between them for different sections of a song, with a different group of effects plugged into each input. Since one of 'em is hotter than the other, I'll use an A/B footswitch to switch to the hotter input for solos too.

    FndrDlx&Prnctn.jpg
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2021
  2. JDB2

    JDB2 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    819
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    I always use #2 to help tame my Fender Prosonic
     
    Maguchi likes this.
  3. Willie Johnson

    Willie Johnson Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    101
    Posts:
    1,943
    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    I do it sometimes with my PRRI when I'm trying to equalize volume with my other Princeton.

    I've noticed that the PRRI's output seems to be buffered when I have a jack in output 2 when I daisy chain in another amp, and gets louder when I unplug it; I thought the -6dB was supposed to be defeated when both inputs were being used.
     
  4. Ezee

    Ezee TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    PE
    Roland Chorus JC amps are excellent, but known for that hiss. On a whim I plugged in to both the High/Low directly into my Modeler. Lush Stereo and Hiss free. : )
     
  5. Tim S

    Tim S Tele-Afflicted Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    FWIW, from https://robrobinette.com/How_Fender_Input_Jacks_Work.htm

    The Lo inputs are attenuated by slightly more than -6dB to offer less gain and more clean headroom. If you find you prefer the Lo inputs I recommend you try using the Hi inputs and turn down the guitar's volume control. You get pretty much the same outcome but you have control at the guitar but the Low jack's low input impedance can remove some high frequencies from the guitar pickup so the guitar tone is typically a little less bright when compared to the Hi jack.
     
  6. Twang Deluxe

    Twang Deluxe Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,046
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    I use the second input of my TMDR when I play my Yamaha Reface CP through it. The Rhodes sound is really amazing
     
  7. peeweepete

    peeweepete Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Location:
    Germany
    I exclusively use the second input on my Twin.
     
  8. tap4154

    tap4154 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    11,431
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Southern California
    That's interesting, because the Tex-Mex pickups are extremely bright. In fact I already pushed all the poles flush with the pickup covers, and put a .1 uf tone cap in it to try to tame it, and it's still pretty bright to my ears if I have the tone pots full open. So maybe for this guitar, using output 2 is perfect, because it also attenuates some of the highs? I guess everyone just has to see what works in their particular situation and tone preference..
     
  9. Sparky2

    Sparky2 Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    4,650
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Location:
    Harvest, Alabama
    I do, but only when I want to make Input #1 jealous.

    :oops:

    [​IMG]
     
    boxocrap and Greggorios like this.
  10. Boreas

    Boreas Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    6,301
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Location:
    Adirondack Coast, NY
    About half the time - even with my single coils. To get the same volume level, it requires cranking the amp a little higher, which often sounds good and changes attack/response a tiny bit.
     
  11. Boreas

    Boreas Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    6,301
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Location:
    Adirondack Coast, NY
    You could, but it often shaves a bunch off the top-end frequencies.
     
  12. tap4154

    tap4154 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    11,431
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Southern California
    Exactly, that's what I was thinking. It allows you to crank the amp more to achieve the same overall volume, which can improve tone, attack, and allow you to fully use the guitar controls.
     
    Boreas likes this.
  13. JL_LI

    JL_LI Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    71
    Posts:
    6,852
    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I don't have one. I'm feeling left out. Does the 5 watt mini toggle switch on my Boogie count?
     
  14. Dismalhead

    Dismalhead Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    8,912
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Location:
    Antelope, California
    I use the Low input on my little Supro 1606. IMO it does pretty much the same that you've experienced.
     
  15. FenderLover

    FenderLover Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,029
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Another effect is added loading - the resistive divider on input 2 is only 68K to ground, while input 1 is 1M to ground. You get the -6dB but lower impedance in parallel with your high impedance guitar jack.
    If it works, it works.
     
    beanluc likes this.
  16. bblumentritt

    bblumentritt Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    2,093
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Yes.

    I use the Fender type 6dB cut sometimes for high output humbuckers, or if I want less volume.

    However, not all amps are created equal. I have a Curt Lancaster amp that the high input in Marshall 800 territory, and the Low input gets you more of a Fender blackface thing.
     
  17. boxocrap

    boxocrap Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    356
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    Location:
    north delta british columbia canada
    gridlock likes this.
  18. boxocrap

    boxocrap Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    356
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    Location:
    north delta british columbia canada
    hmmm...i not knew that even after decades of owning a super reverb..thanks
     
  19. tap4154

    tap4154 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    11,431
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Southern California
    I don't know if that's how every amp operates, but it's how the old red knob Super 60/112/210 operates.


    20211125_095629.jpg 20211125_095750.jpg
     
  20. tiktok

    tiktok Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,703
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    I use it when I want to use an 18w Marshall circuit as a pedal platform.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.