Anyone just give up on playing fast?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Burnt Gerbil, Jul 11, 2011.

1. Burnt Gerbil

Burnt Gerbil Tele-Meister

I know and completely agree that speed isn't the end-all-be-all of guitar ability. I'm not a metal head, I don't want to "shred," I don't even like the word "shred." But I still feel like that really cool, really fast lick can be good for the song when appropriately applied.

That being said, I am starting to feel like I'm just physically incapable of pulling it off. I play/practice a few hours a day (most days), and played 6 hours every day all through college (GPA be damned!). I watch YouTube videos and usually (at the risk of sounding cocky) feel like I'm a better all-around guitarist than whoever I'm watching (I don't consider myself a great player by any means, but it's one amateur watching another, and I think I'm better than most other amateurs), yet they seem to be able to zoom across the fretboard 10x faster than myself.

Is there anyone else out there who just gave up on ambitions of developing any sort of speed? It's to the point that I've about decided that my left fingers are dysfunctional and I'm only now figuring it out. Or better yet, are there any of you who were in a similar position once upon a time and ended up finding a way to break through it?

2. brookdalebill

brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

For me, fast playing is like fast food.
    How good can it be?
    Building speed is a gradual process.
    Results come from practice, but the right teacher can help immeasurably.
    Sometimes you have to "shop" for the right one.

3. sir humphrey

sir humphrey Friend of Leo's

You won't be physically incapable of playing fast, as long as your fingers work!

Speed is all about technique rather than any superpowers in your fingers.

If you want to play fast, get a good teacher to look at your technique and tell you where you can improve.