1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Anyone here ever mod their Twin Reverb?

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by funkyguitarman, Apr 20, 2021.

1. funkyguitarman

funkyguitarman TDPRI Member

Background: I've been playing Twin Reverbs consistently now for the better part of 10 years. While I was a musician in the Army, I had access to a number of Reissues that served me well for a variety of uses. I loved the ones at work so much that I ended up buying my first TRRI back in 2012 and have never been without one since. Over the years, I dabbled in other amps at work and in my civilian playing, but always came back to the twin for it's tone and volume. Not surprisingly, the Twin Reverb became "my" sound over the years. One of the TRRI we had at Ft Bliss had a speaker swap done before I arrived, it had Eminence Legends in there. That amp in particular was fantastic. I remember it being more balanced and perhaps more musical as a result of just the speaker swap. The other TRRI during that time included a then new 68 custom which was a fine amp and my own, a Guitar Center special edition TRRI in white tolex with a oxblood grille. My white TRRI was the exact same amp as the standard 65 TRRI, just with different cosmetics. However, I eventually retubed mine and had the shop bias it hotter per my request. I knew even less back then about amps and it seemed like a cool and easy way to lower the headroom so that I could push the amp harder. That white TRRI sounded incredible and it definitely is the one that got away ampwise.