1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Anyone ever been fired/laid off or had to fire/layoff others?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by burntfrijoles, Mar 23, 2018.

1. burntfrijoles

burntfrijoles Poster Extraordinaire

I was once downsized out of a management job. I can remember how it felt when the CEO personally informed me.
    As a manager I fired or laid off dozens of people. It's the most uncomfortable feeling you can imagine to sit face to face with someone and give them the news.
    With one or two rare exceptions I can say that I always felt sympathy for those affected, even when the individual who was fired deserved the consequences.
    When someone is dismissed it hits them hard. It can take away their sense of self-worth and batter their confidence in addition to the financial consequences. Then there is the uncertain future that awaits.

2. golfnut

golfnut Friend of Leo's

Several years ago my wife was downsized out of her middle management position of 27 years. I remember her going through a hard time as she thought she'd retire from that job.
    I was very supportive of her and I had a good job and she got a great severance package so financial stability wasn't an issue. But at the time being in her mid 40's with a ways to go to retirement, she worried. She did a couple of contract positions over a couple years before landing an even better job in a higher management position. So it all worked out.
    I've been laid of twice in my life, both at my request.

3. Brad Pittiful

Brad Pittiful Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

laid off twice and knew it was coming...another time i was laid off and didnt see it coming...i think back on it and it seemed more like a firing...in the uk they say sacked over fired...i think it sounds cooler to get sacked than fired