Anyone do straight Tru Oil on a Pine Body and Maple Neck?

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by El Tele Lobo, Sep 8, 2016.

1. El Tele Lobo

El Tele Lobo Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

Results? Pictures?

I could swear I've seen posts of people using nothing but. I'm getting recommendations to uses sealers, shellac, pop the grain with this or that. It's getting ridiculous. I took a week off work and I've yet to get started. I'm a cold newb to finishing and I'm not sure I'm up to tinting the tru oil, mixing down shellac flakes (the canned stuff i bought with an amber tint turns out to be waxed. Some people say this is fine and others say you can't put another finish over it. Getting frustrated. Some say use a sealer coat and others say just use Tru-Oil.

I've seen videos of people using just Tru-Oil online so I know it can/has been done, but I'm getting paralyzed with too many choices. I with with TO originally to simplify. I don't have a spray ability and live in florida, where the humidity is currently around 60%.

Someone speak some sanity to me? This is getting comical. I took this week off work to get this underway. Took a day to clean and gather supplies and the last several days doing last minute research and it's thursday and I've yet to really start. Beginning to feel a little foolish. Sorry. Frustrated. :D

2. El Tele Lobo

This is the shellac I bought...

upload_2016-9-8_11-31-40.png

3. El Tele Lobo

BTW...I have been testing both the shellac and the Tru-oil (and combinations thereof ) on scrap pine...so maybe I'll figure this out eventually.

Need to take the advice in my signature...:p

4. richa

richa Tele-Afflicted

I have not done straight tru oil but you certainly can. It is also comptible with a shellac sealer. Don't be paralyzed. Nothing you do with this stuff is likely to be irreversible and TO is very forgiving.