Any sailors aboard?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Downshift, Jul 29, 2013.

1. Downshift

Downshift Tele-Holic

I have no sailing experience whatsoever, however my grandpa was in the Navy, then worked as a marina manager for 30 years, and retired to live aboard his 29' sailboat.

I have a fascination with the idea of getting a sailboat and learning to do some coastal cruising. Grandpa sailed the Atlantic in his sailboat...I don't know if I'd have the guts to do that, but I wouldn't mind a trip to the Caribbean.

Anyone here a sailor?

2. Mjark

Mjark Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

No boat but I like sailing. My dad had several boats we sailed all the time in the 80's and 90's. I live in a sailing town.

3. BooNin

BooNin Tele-Meister

Sailed most of my life, from dinghies, keelboats, yachts...I've been sailing professionally for nearly 12 years, teaching sailing to others, corporate charters, private charters and racing.

Currently an officer on a cruise ship, but will probably go back to racing yachts.

Working on boats has given me a great career and I've seen the world. Last contract we visited 47 countries over 4 months.

My advice, go and charter for a weekend, could be a 'make or break' event! It's not for everyone.

4. Del Pickup

Del Pickup Poster Extraordinaire

I would love to buy a decent sized 35-40 foot yacht to live onboard. I had a few speedboats in the past but hadn't done any sailing until recently when I took lessons at one of the local yacht clubs.

Thoroughly enjoyed it but very quickly realised that I wasn't interested in racing but am definitely into the cruising style of life.

Would thoroughly recommend it.

5. adifferentbreed

adifferentbreed Tele-Afflicted

Just do it. Been sailing my whole life, nothing like it in this world. Plus, you can take your guitar with you.

6. Downshift

Downshift Tele-Holic