Any of you all use a Rumble 40 bass amp for guitar much?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by FortyEight, Nov 4, 2020.

1. FortyEight

FortyEight Tele-Afflicted

I got a rumble 40 about a month ago cuz I started playing bass in a country western band. And i didn't want to lug my Rumble 100 around. I'm a bit decrepit from lyme disease and that sucker is heavy. (mine is a 2-10"er on casters and sounds really good for bass)

Actually at first I bought the rumbe 25 at my music go round and a direct box for PA systems. But I did want the 40. And then I noticed the other Music go round close to me (I'm like directly inbetween two of them) had the 40 in stock and they gave me credit for the 25 and direct box and it was close to the same price. Yaaay me.

The 40 is super light and sounds great for bass. The 25 was serviceable and I kind of liked the bass tones. The 40 is better in a lot of ways though.

It's lighter (I guess the 25 is mdf and the 40 is a pine plywood), has way more adjustments and stuff on it. And has a direct out.

Now, when I played bass at church every once in a while I would play guitar too and I would just use my bass amp. (rumble 100). It did not have that great of a sound for guitar but it was "good enough".

When I tried the 25 I was like blaaaaaaa. Not so great for guitar either.

Now the 40 on the other hand, I've dinked around with it with a few guitars for quite a while yesterday and a few other times and I feel like I'm starting to get some pretty decent guitar tones out of it. Maybe even as good as anything I have right now. Different but maybe as good.

My main question is that if any of you DO use one for guitar a lot, what are your settings like and what sounds good to you?