1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Antique books

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Durtdog, Apr 6, 2011.

1. Durtdog

Durtdog Poster Extraordinaire

I have a rare antique first edition book, and am interested in getting it appraised, possibly selling.

Anyone here have any experience with this or know of a reputable book appraisal/consignment company?

2. Eric Karonen

Eric Karonen RIP

I've no experience with an actual dealer, but I've googled a few titles and was pleasantly surprised.

3. Balou

Balou Tele-Meister

It's a telecaster forum , so I'll say Gruhn !

4. Twelvefrets

Twelvefrets Tele-Meister

I was in the book business for about twenty years. I can help if you like.

5. Durtdog

PM sent

6. elihu

elihu Poster Extraordinaire

Y'all please post the followup...I'd be interested in the title and the apprasial value.

7. Mojohand40

Mojohand40 Tele-Afflicted

8. gearhead69

gearhead69 Tele-Meister

It sounds like Twelvefrets has you covered, but as a side note, there's a used book site called Abebooks that has more titles than you could imagine. I would say that doing a search on that site would give you a ballpark as to what a given book may be worth, at least in starting a search.

9. Durtdog

Yes, I found Abebooks last week and have seen several copies of the book on their website available for sale. It's a good starting point, thanks.

And Mojohand, I sent an email to Prospero, I'll let you all know what comes of it. Thank you.

10. Mjark

Mjark Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

I'd start by searching for the edition you have on the internet and see what it's fetching.

11. CarterK

CarterK Tele-Meister

Addall.com is a good used book search engine. Covers a lot of used and rare sites.

12. Stubee

Stubee Doctor of Teleocity Gold Supporter